The shining stars of MPINCC were recognized with awards presented at the Annual Gala held at the Hotel Nikko San Francisco on Tuesday, June 6, 2017.  President Marilee Sonneman honored fourteen members for their stellar contributions to the chapter.  And the winners are…

PATRICK McMICHAEL, CSEP won the Tomorrow’s Leader award at the MPINCCGala. Patrick has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the first two years of membership. Already honored as Meeting Professional of the Quarter for re-designing our website in his first year, he stepped up to a whole new level in the second year.

The Committee Chair of the Year is someone who led the Recruitment Committee with a constant smile on her face and joy in her heart – MELANIE LUCERO.

DOLCE HAYES MANSION received the Partner of the Year award as a hotel who hosted CMP University for five long months and elevated the students’ experience by adding a food and beverage program on their own.

DANIELLE RESTAINO, CMP was presented with the first President’s Award which recognizes an individual who spent months crafting the first-ever Emergency Plan for ACE, a plan so thorough and so detailed that two global security experts called it “near perfect” from the ACE General Session stage.

A record number of Past Presidents answered the call to service this year. Already honored in the Hall of Fame last year, this next candidate must nonetheless be recognized for the astonishing strategic and tactical leadership as ACE Chairman this year. MATTHEW SCHERMERHORN, CMP, HMCC

The Board Member of the Year was awarded to KATHLEEN MAIER, CMP. She came to me (MPINCC President, Marilee Sonneman, CMP, DCMP) and said, ‘Marilee, when you are President, I will do whatever you need.’ Her leadership as Director of Marketing took that Committee to new heights with four social-media accounts, lots of engagement, and the first press release in years.

The second Partner of the Year Award was given to SONOMA COUNTY TOURISM. This organization supported the chapter at not one, not two, but THREE events this year and also stepped up their level of sustaining partnership to become the Chapter’s first Titanium Sponsor.

LISA BURKETT, CMP, CMM, HMCC was honored with a President’s Award. It recognizes an individual who placed her career on hold to fulfill a brand-new Board role this year. As the inaugural Director of ACE, she oversaw the entire strategic and logistical scope of ACE 2017, including the development of the first-ever Strategic Meeting Management Plan, the first-ever SMMP in ACE’s 29 years.

The Hall of Fame Award recognizes long-time Chapter member who deliver exceptional results for the Chapter for many years. We recognized three stellar individuals.

1. Our first Hall of Fame honoree has served as the Corks & Forks catalyst for three years, two as the inaugural Chair. The first Hall of Fame award goes to: ROSE STANTON, CTA

2. This next individual is another Past President who answered the call of service this year to set the highest-ever bar of educational excellence as the ACE Education Chair. The second Hall of Fame award goes to: DANA MARSHALL, CMP, CMM, HMCC

3. Our final Hall of Fame honoree is a gentleman who serves this Chapter faithfully for over 25 years. Jody Brandes, CMP, CMM, HMCC, and I (Marilee Sonneman, CMP, DCMP) began our own journeys as Award & Recognition Chairs when he was President 2004-2005. He has not stopped since. This year he served as Retention Chair and also led a task force to rewrite our Policies & Procedures Manual. The final Hall of Fame Award winner is JIM SKIBA, CIS, CMP, CTA

The Meeting Professional of the Year is our Chapter’s Best Actor or Best Actress. This year’s Meeting Professional has starred for two years as Co-Chair of the CMP/CMM Committee, re-working and re-deploying the entire CMP U program that is recognized for global excellence as an MPI RISE 2017 finalist. And she did it all while travelling non-stop as a planner for Greylock Partners. Congratulations LIZ CHERSON, CMP, CMM

Thirty years ago, in 1987, this President’s Award honoree broke the glass ceiling at Global by becoming the first-ever female Chair of the International Board of Directors. She continues to champion women in leadership globally and locally. She is a role model, she is the essence of hospitality, she is an inspiration. The President’s Award is awarded to MARTA HAYDEN

This President’s Award honors a gentleman whose commitment to servant leadership has influenced every MPINCC President and Board member for over a decade. He asks the hard questions and welcomes the white elephant in a Board room. He has performed on cruise ships and appeared on Broadway, but his greatest role is facilitator extraordinaire. Thank you, RICK WEAVER.